Finding Truth When You Least Expect It

So many of us, myself included, seem to be rushing through life. We have jobs to do, family to take care of, and friends to see. But sometimes, in the midst of all this busyness, we’ll hear something so beautiful that it takes our breath away. We’ll hear, or read, or see, a glimpse of something that is so sacred it stops us in our tracks because we have to, we simply have to, take a moment to absorb what we’ve experienced.

img_2138

This morning, I was scrolling through Facebook when I came across an article written by a women who struggled with fertility. She eventually did have a child and when her daughter was three years old she informed her mother that she’d had to wait so long to have a baby because God was still making her.

That simple conversation, in the midst of a mother daughter art session, was a beautiful reminder to that mother, and now to all of us, that we CAN trust in God’s timing. It may not be easy, in fact often times waiting can feel torturous, but we can and we must trust in God’s timing.

(Side Note: I found this article when I first woke up and started scrolling on Facebook. I know, its a bad habit. But today it inspired me to start writing on my phone while I was still in bed, so sometimes Facebook is wonderful. Anyway, I can’t find the article now, so if anyone knows the article  I am talking about, please share a link.)

I also recently came across a video of a women who was asking her sick child questions. At the end of the video, when she asks “What does love mean” the little girl pauses for a moment to think, and then gives the most beautiful answer to her mother’s question.  She responds quiet simply, with the one word answer of “God.”

Think about that for a moment. A three year old knew that love means God.

And a three year old was able to help her mother remember that God is love.

Hearing this precious answer literally took my breath away. The mother teared up upon hearing this answer, and I have to admit I did too, because this was another example of one of those sacred moments that surprise us in the midst of our chaotic lives.

(Here is a link to the video. I saw it on Facebook first, but I was able to find it again so I can share a link here.)

Both of these young girls blessed their mothers (and the rest of us since their mothers were willing to share) with an everyday moment that transformed into a sacred moment of truth.

As I reflect on these small moments, I am thankful for the truths they reminded me of. First, the truth that I can and should trust in God’s timing. And second, the powerful truth that God is love.

I am thankful that I was open to hear, and feel, the truth of those moments. I hope you are able to feel the truth of these moments as well, and that you are open to the sacred moments that will present themselves to you in the midst of your crazy and busy life.

***

I, Andrea Fingerson, am a dedicated truth seeker. And I am dedicated to sharing the truths I discover with the world. I would love to hear from you. What truths have you discovered? Share them with us so that we can be inspired, and comforted, too.

thismuchiknowtobetruelogo2

Leave a Reply

