Resolutions: A Challenge To Become

Hello again. 

I know. It’s been a while. Here’s a picture in case you’ve forgotten what I look like. 


Unfortunately, I was a lazy blogger in 2016. But, I am, finally, back at the computer. 

Actually, I am typing this on my phone, but that’s still counts. Right?

Anyway, back to my original point, the whole reason for this post. 

January has rolled around again, and I can’t help thinking of the traditional resolutions that tend to fill up everyone’s annual To Do Lists. 

Yes, I want to lose weight. Yes, I want to travel the world and save money. No, I don’t need to quit smoking. (Dad, that one’s for you. Love ya.) But I do need to find a way to be less stressed. And a way to be more brave. 

The problem, for me at least, is that resolutions tend to last about as many days as there are letters in the word. (There’s 11, just in case you were wondering.) 

Am I the only one with this problem? With a long list of failed resolutions?

I need something more than a resolution. I need a change. A metamorphosis that will last me beyond 11 days, or even the entire 365 days of 2017. I need to undergo a permanent transformation.

This year, instead of focusing on a To Do List, or a Don’t Do List, I am going to focus on a word. A word that I hope will help me become the person I have always longed to become. 

Fearless


I saw this bracelet a few days before Christmas, but I didn’t let myself buy it. I was visiting my sister for the holidays and I had other things to worry about (like my highly energetic niece and nephew). And more than a week before the year ended. 

But once I returned home, once the year officially ended and my return to my classroom loomed ever closer, I decided it was time to act. 

I needed to be brave. I needed to force myself to begin this transformation. I needed to force myself to commit to being fearless. 

So, I’m posting this resolution on my blog, this commitment to live this year, to live my life, fearlessly. 

What resolutions, what commitments, are you going to make in the face of the refreshing restart that is New Year’s? 

Let me know so that we can help each other be successful. 

I’m the mean time, happy writing. 

3 comments

  1. Hi, Andrea! 2016 was a tremendously challenging year for me. Things have settled down a bit now, but I still have daunting challenges ahead of me. I need to budget my time better (what’s new about that?). But, more importantly, I need to remind myself to remain upbeat and optimistic about the future and what it holds. “Fearless” is a good watchword, and I’d like to add another one: “Empathy.” I want to remember, always, to put myself in the other person’s shoes. I think it will help with my writing as well as my daily life. Cheers and Happy New Year to all of us!

Leave a Reply

