Truth Seeking with Jeffrey R. Holland

For those of you who don’t know, I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, or a Mormon. Two weekends ago I had the pleasure of watching General Conference. During this twice yearly event, Prophets, Apostles, and leaders of the church gather to share council with the world. Their talks are broadcast on television and members are encouraged to watch and reflect on their inspired guidance.

There was one talk in particular that I felt the need to share because the speaker specifically mentioned a “Truth” that I hope everyone knows, but I fear they do not.

jeffrey-r-holland-large

In the very last talk of the conference season, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland gave a talk titled “Tomorrow the Lord Will Do Wonders Among You.” (Here is a link to the full text.)Towards the end of his talk, Elder Holland said…

“My brothers and sisters, the first great commandment of all eternity is to love God with all of our heart, might, mind, and strength—that’s the first great commandment. But the first great truth of all eternity is that God loves us with all of His heart, might, mind, and strength. That love is the foundation stone of eternity, and it should be the foundation stone of our daily life. Indeed it is only with that reassurance burning in our soul that we can have the confidence to keep trying to improve, keep seeking forgiveness for our sins, and keep extending that grace to our neighbor.”

I would like to add my testimony to his. The great truth of the gospel is that Heavenly Father “loves us with all of His heart, might, mind, and strength.”

Please remember this always.

For anyone who is interested, I have a blog where I discuss General Conference Talks. It is http://ldsconferencetalks.blogspot.com/. I haven’t posted in a while, but I plan on starting next week. Check it out if you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

