Picture Book Challenge

photo 1-2

Picture books are a child’s first taste of the wonderful world of literature. Wrapped in the arms of their parents and loved ones, children explore, and chew on, these precious stories. Their words and illustrations are the beginning of a child’s foundation, their very future. A treasured story will comfort a child before bed, teach them the words they need to express themselves, and provide insight into the world around them. Beloved characters and rhymes will be engraved upon a child’s memory, maybe even their soul.

The job of the picture book author and illustrator is more important than it might appear at first glance. But the truth is that picture book authors, and illustrators, influence generations to come.

I come to you today, to issue a challenge. During 2016 I will write (and revise) one picture book every month. I want you to join me on this project. I want you to accept this challenge too.

I came across this project online thanks to my membership in the KidLit411 Facebook group. Here is the website with the challenge if you want to check it out. I am gathering a group of people in the Inland Empire who want to join me. Together, we will support each other, and hold each other accountable.

I will not be able to post the stories online (I hope to get some of them published one day), but I will let you know how I’m doing. And I hope you will help to hold me accountable. I would love to hear from you, and I hope that many of you will join the challenge.

Let me know if you are interested in joining the group. I am setting up a meeting for this Saturday, January 30th, 2016.

photo 3-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

