Truth Seeking over Thanksgiving

My Thanksgiving vacation is coming to an end and I want to take a moment to reflect on a truth that has occurred to be during this holiday season.

As I’ve gotten older, my ideas about how to celebrate Thanksgiving have changed. I’ve never been much of a black Friday shopper or a football enthusiast, but when I was a child the holiday felt bigger somehow. Now, as the rush of the holiday season truly begins, I am thankful for quiet family celebrations at home surrounded by the ones I love.

My sister is visiting, so my house is full. I was lucky enough to have the whole week off – a blessing of my district’s academic calendar. On Thursday and Friday, nobody had to go to work, including my Dad, who faces a long commute five days a week. And, most importantly, we were all together. We had a quiet morning, at least as quiet as it can be with five adults, a five year old, a two year old, and a dog under one roof. After running an errand for my parents, who were in charge of the feast, I headed to the moves with my sister’s family to watch “The Good Dinosaur.” Then we came home to help with the finishing touches on the meal and to spend a little time decorating turkey’s. We sat down for a delicious meal at about four and enjoyed a quiet evening together playing games and watching movies. We even had a visit from my grandmother who joined us for pie after spending the morning at my aunt’s house. It was a simple, but wonderful day. A day to be thankful for.

Thanksgiving pic

Last year, I thought I was going to spend the holiday by myself. My sister lives in Colorado, and my parents had flights that would take them up there for the entire week of Thanksgiving. I would have been fine. My maternal grandmother lives less than fifteen minutes away and I have two aunts who were both planning Thanksgiving feasts. I would have been welcomed by all of them, but I felt a little sad about not celebrating the holiday with my immediate family.

I love all of my family, but the people who come to mind when I think of the word are my parents, my sister, her husband, and their two children. (And my grandparents of course). Last year, they were all going to be together, without me, and the thought made me more than a little bit sad.

I am a bit of a home body, but nobody was surprised when I booked a last minute fight to Colorado to join them. For that particular holiday, being a homebody meant being in Colorado. I know some people find it boring to spend every holiday with the same people, but that’s just how I was made.

Because of my die-hard nature as a home body, I am very thankful for the simple, but beautiful Thanksgiving I had this year. Now, as I face the rest of the holiday season, I am determined to keep my mind focused on the thing I am most thankful for, my family.

I hope you are able to do the same.

Leave a Reply

