Truth Seeking at Writer’s Day

photo 1-1

Last weekend I had the opportunity to travel to Thousand Oaks for a writing conference. The Central Costal region of SCBWI (The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) was holding their annual Writer’s Day. It was a wonderful gathering of what I lovingly call “My People.”

Other wise know as … writers.

photo 3-4

As always, I came away from this event with a few “truths” to help me as I move forward in my writing career.

(1) Book Maps give you a bird’s eyes view of your picture book and help you to hear the page turns.
This is so true and so important. Picture books are all about the page turns.
(Thank you Celia Lee of Scholastic. I know I have a few manuscripts that could benefit from this step.)

(2) Have a regular writing schedule and keep it sacred.
I am doing a lot better with this. My first year after earning my MFA I was on recovering mode. Now I am in writer mode and I am whispering to myself “Just keep writing. Just keep writing.”
(Thank you John Cusick of Folio Literary Management. You will be hearing from me.)

(3) John also shared another concept that is soo true. I hope I have it quoted correctly. “Literally everything else, anything else, is more important than your writing … according to every other human on earth.”
Now, I know that I have a lot of people supporting me as I pursue writing, but this is still true. So, I am going to guard my writing time to the best of my ability and send my love to people when I have to ignore them.

photo

Writer’s Day was a wonderful experience. I came away overflowing with advice, ideas, and new friends. Thanks you, SCWBI, for another wonderful weekend.

photo 5-1

Leave a Reply

