Truth Seeking with Writers at the Ovitt Library in Ontario

The last few weeks of the summer have been wonderful for my writing. One of the truths that has hit home, is the importance of being involved in the writing community. I am striving to do this locally with Inlandia, and nationally with SCBWI – the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

With this truth in mind, on July 25th I spent the day at the Ovitt Family Community Library in Ontario at two separate writing events.

The first was a meeting of the Inland Empire branch of the California Writer’s Club. Having this opportunity to see a few writers I already knew, and meet many more, was a wonderful reminder about how important it is to engage in your community, or as I said in my last post, with “my people.”

photo 2-3

The second part of the day was spent at Inlandia’s Indie Authors Fair.

photo 1-1

Conveniently, the keynote presenter at the Indie Authors Fair was the same guest speaker who had presented earlier in the day. Corinne Litchfield is a social media manager and she was gracious enough to participate in my Truth Project. (You can see her response here.) It is wonderful.

At the end of the day, I felt rejuvenated. I was excited about writing and eager to move forward on my many projects. That, in of itself, would have made the day worth my time, but I also came away from the two events encouraged about the opportunities in self publishing and more comfortable with my plans for my social medial platform.

Social media, as they say, is about relationships. What better way to start, and strengthen relationships than by sharing the truths that inspire you to progress.

photo 1

Thank you to all the wonderful people associated with the Ovitt Library, Inlandia, and the California Writer’s Club. it was a wonderful day. I know I wasn’t the only one who left rejuvenated.

Leave a Reply

