Truth Seeking with My People

When my niece was young, I once heard her use the phrase “my people.”

Since then, I have become obsessed with it. I even used it as the title of a project that the teen parents I work with had to complete: The My People Project.

For me, the phrase holds a lot of weight. “My people” are my family, my friends, my co-workers, educators, fellow writers and artist, people who share my faith, and people who obsess about the same issues and television shows that I do. My people are those who understand all of me, or just a specific part of me.

vision boards

photo 5

The individuals in my writing group are my people because they understand how challenging, and amazing, and torturous, and beautiful writing can be.

They understand what I mean when I say that one of my characters, one of my creations, won’t do what I tell them to. The rest of the world, just thinks I’m crazy (Yes, I am talking about you Amanda Lister.) but fellow writer’s know exactly what I am talking about. And they know how wonderful the moment is when your character is so “real” that they won’t listen to you anymore.

So, here is my advice. Find out who your people are. You need them, and they need you.

ThisMuchIKnowToBeTrueLogo2

What do you KNOW to be true?

Share your testimony with us. Make the world a better place and the people in it stronger.

Tell us the truth, tell us your truth.

Leave a Reply

