Why Do We Seek Truth?

Early this morning I pulled out my phone to listen to the scriptures. I haven’t been very consistent with my scripture reading of late and I wanted to restart my routine. 

When I opened the LDS Library app the first message I was presented with was a General Conference talk by a Rosemary Wixom, the Primary General President. The title of the talk (“Returning to Faith”) looked interesting, so I started the audio recording. 

  
What followed was exactly what I needed to hear. Just like me, the woman Sister Wixom spoke about was a truth seeker. She was someone who struggled with doubts but who earnestly wanted to know truth. 

As I was listening to these words, a question came to my mind: why do we seek truth? I’m not sure I know the full answer to this question, but I do know that truths give us something to hold onto. They help us make sense of the world around us and they strengthen us as we face obstacles. 

That is, ultimately, why I started my truth project. To help myself, and you, to find the truths that will sustain us through life’s many trials. 

I hope it is working for you. It has already begun to help me. 

There are too many wonderful thoughts to share from this talk. Please follow the link to read it. (Here is the full talk.)

But I do want to share part of Sister Wixom’s final testimony because it spoke to my heart. She said, “I testify that truth is on the earth today and His gospel is found in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.” 

That’s it for now. Have a wonderful day, my fellow Truth Seekers.

Leave a Reply

